Huletts Koeksister Champion 2013 – Winner

Winner Yvonne Jansen van Vuuren with Paul Dickinson, General Manager, Huletts Marketing & Sales
Winner Yvonne Jansen van Vuuren with Paul Dickinson, General Manager, Huletts Marketing & Sales

Congratulations to the Huletts Koeksister Champion 2013 – Yvonne Jansen van Vuuren from eMalahleni.

To view a clip of the Innibos festival and announcement of the winner – go to

Firstly, we would like to thank the fifteen semi-finalists for the wonderful experience. We loved tasting your koeksisters - each and every one was delicious!

Our panel of judges, under the skilled guidance of Peter Veldsman, an expert in South African food heritage and a former food editor of Sarie Magazine, considered the following: appearance, colour, texture, absorption of syrup, thick and thinness of syrup, mouth appeal and lingering flavour, with overall taste scoring the most points. A total of 15 judges were randomly divided into 3 groups of 5 each. Each group had to taste 5 different koeksisters. Each entry was represented by a number and no names were disclosed. Each member of the team voted anonymously. Votes were totalled and the two koeksisters with highest number of votes from each (6 koeksisters) went through to the second round. All 15 judges then voted for their best tasting 4 koeksisters from the total of 6. Again the scores were tallied. Finally the top 4 were chosen.

Every koeksister that we tasted would be welcomed and thoroughly enjoyed in any South African home. They were all utterly delicious.

The Four Finalists are (in no particular order):

  • Mariette Visser, Walkerville
  • Ria van der Walt, Nelspruit
  • Yvonne Jansen van Vuuren, eMalahleni
  • Ursula Viljoen, Reitz

Judging is never easy, especially when the standard is so high. Congratulations to the four finalists and we wish them all the best at Innibos where a total of 2500 festival goers will have the opportunity to sample and vote for their best tasting koeksister!

View pictures of the judging of the semi-finalists here:

Huletts Koeksister Beoordelaars en Gaste 2013
Janusz Luterek & Lizz MeiringLizz Meiring, Mathilda Pansegrouw, Peter Veldsman & Neels van Jaarsveld
Neels v Jaarsveld, Ghapi & Sunette BarnardDie wissel-trofee en stembus
Sorina 'Flooze'

Win 1 of 4 iPad mini’s at Innibos!

Click here for more info
Win an iPad mini!

To view the voting process watch this clip -

Listen to our Jacaranda fm advert here: